Skip to Main Content

University of Houston Libraries

SCLT 4375 - Global Supply Chain

Culture & Etiquette

Country Profiles: Global Guide to Culture, Customs, and Etiquette
Covers language, useful phrases, society, culture, business, and social etiquette.
Based on business culture guide books.
Country Profiles and Territory Profiles from BBC News
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Country Insights
From International Trade Canada.
Covers culture, politics, history, geography, and more.

Doing Business in Countries

Country Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Commercial Guides (export.gov)
Most reports cover economic trends, political environment, how to market U.S. products, leading sectors for exports, trade regulations, investment climate, business travel, and more. Most of the guides are updated annually.
globalEDGE
Created by MSU's Center for International Business Education and Research (MSU-CIBER), globalEDGE provides insight into global business activities. Includes country profiles with corporate culture and risk, statistics, industry overviews, news, and more.
International Trade and Investment Country Facts (Bureau of Economic Analysis, Commerce Department)
The International Trade and Investment Country Facts application provides information on U.S. trade in goods and services, direct investment, and the activities of multinational enterprises for individual countries and country groupings.
Investment Climate Statements
Investment Climate Statements provide country-specific information and assessments prepared by U.S. embassies and diplomatic missions abroad on investment laws and practices in those countries and other areas.
Political Risk Yearbook via Business Source Complete
Provides political, economic, and financial risk ratings and analysis for 100 countries important to international business.
Transparency International
Provides Corruption Perceptions Index for 176 countries and territories.
U.S. Commercial Service Offices
The U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Embassy helps U.S. firms export goods and services across the globe.
World Bank "Doing Business" guides
Includes country reports, rankings, and sometimes city/regional analysis. World Bank also provides local and international LPI data.
The World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Library Databases

Passport This link opens in a new window
Offers a single gateway to business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries of more than 205 countries. It includes internationally comparable statistics, topical comments and latest consumer lifestyle research reports.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
IMF eLibrary Data Includes domestic and international financial data from the International Financial Statistics as well as Government Finance Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments, African Regional Economic Outlook, and more.
WDI Online This link opens in a new window
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 800 development indicators, with time series for over 200 countries. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.