RELS 3380 - Introduction to Asian Religions
Home
This guide will help you find resources for your topics on the religions of Asia. It also includes research and writing tips,
Library Call Numbers
Books relevant to Asian religions often begin with the following call numbers:
- BL1000-2370 (Hinduism, other Asian religions)
- BP1-253 (Islam)
- BQ (Buddhism)
- BR1065 (Christianity in Asia)
Books in these call number ranges are found on the 8th floor of the Blue Wing in the M. D. Anderson Library. Please note that not all relevant books will be in these sections.
Databases, Websites, and Books
These library resources will help you find information about religions in the country you are researching. (Please note: if you are off campus, you will need to log in for full access.)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three 2016-1 by Call Number: DS37 .E523 2007 (and some e-content)ISBN: 9789004305748
Research Tips
- Look for options to narrow your results list by source type (journal, book, etc.), language, and so on.
- If you find an article or book that looks promising, check the bibliography for additional sources.
- Use the "record" (the page that provides bibliographic and other information about an article or book) to identify subject headings, additional keywords, etc.
- Use what you learn from each search to improve your next search.