Compare a 10:00pm local broadcast newscast with the following day's Houston Chronicle coverage.
Write a report addressing the types of news covered, the substance of its editorial page/broadast, and anything else of interest.
Research what company owns each media outlet.
Also look at the "newsmakers" (people quoted in the stories) - including gender, age, ethnicity, etc. It might be helpful to answer the six journalistic questions (Who? What? When? Where? Why? How?) for each of the media stories studied to determine if informaiton was the same or differed.
Be sure to include a reference to the issues/broadcast date studied.
Place most of your focus on the compare/contrast angle; please don't waste time/space re-telling the specifics of individual news stories.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ( core ) indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ( priority ) coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for more than 240 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present, some dating as far back as 1915.