Computer Science Research Resources
What Are Dissertations and Theses?
Dissertations and theses are formal research documents required for advanced academic degrees. They represent the culmination of a student’s academic work and often involve original research, analysis, and a contribution to a specific field of study.
- Dissertations: Typically required for doctoral (PhD) programs, dissertations represent original contributions to knowledge in a given field. They are often longer, more detailed, and involve extensive research and methodology.
- Theses: Generally required for master’s degree programs, theses are shorter in length compared to dissertations and focus on a specific research topic, demonstrating a student’s ability to conduct independent research and contribute to the field.
Dissertations and Theses at UH Libraries
Access dissertations and theses from the University of Houston, including digital and physical copies. Explore UH’s collections for research by UH graduate students and faculty.
Resources:
- UH Libraries Catalog: Search for dissertations and theses in the UH library catalog.
Access UH Library Catalog - UH Digital Repository: Access full-text dissertations and theses available online.
UH Digital Repository for Dissertations and Theses
Accessing Dissertations and Theses Globally
University of Houston has licensed ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, giving UH students access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from universities worldwide. This valuable resource includes millions of works from top institutions, providing full-text access to current and historical research across various disciplines.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowOnline access to 8 ProQuest dissertations & theses databases : Dissertations & Theses @ University of Houston, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Business, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Health & Medicine, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Health & Medicine, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: History, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Science & Technology, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Social Sciences, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts.
Dissertations and Theses from Leading Institutions
Access dissertations and theses from renowned academic institutions around the world. These repositories house some of the most prestigious research documents across disciplines.
- Apollo - CambridgeApollo is Cambridge University’s digital repository, offering access to a wide array of dissertations and theses. It features cutting-edge research across disciplines, with notable contributions to the field of computer science and technology.
- DASH - HarvardDASH is Harvard University’s open-access repository, showcasing the university’s extensive collection of graduate and doctoral dissertations and theses. It includes groundbreaking work in computer science, providing valuable insights into the latest academic advancements.
- Deep Blue - University of MichiganDeep Blue is the University of Michigan’s digital archive, providing open access to dissertations and theses from graduate students. The collection spans a wide range of disciplines, with innovative research in computer science and engineering driving much of its content.
- DSpace - MITDSpace is MIT’s institutional repository, housing dissertations and theses that reflect the cutting-edge research of its graduate students. It offers a wealth of knowledge, with impactful contributions in computer science, artificial intelligence, and other technological fields.
- TSpace - University of TorontoTSpace is the University of Toronto’s open-access repository, hosting a rich collection of graduate theses and dissertations. It highlights research across diverse fields, with a strong focus on computer science, data science, and the latest technological innovations.