Computer Science Research Resources
Find Articles
UH Licensed Databases :
These databases, licensed by UH Libraries, offer various scholarly resources for computer science and interdisciplinary research. They provide access to journals, conference proceedings, articles, and more.
CS-Oriented Databases
These databases are focused on computer science, providing access to high-quality research papers, conference proceedings, and technical articles.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowACM Digital Library Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
-
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new windowThe series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level.
Generalized Databases
These databases cover various scientific disciplines, including computer science, and provide access to peer-reviewed journals, articles, and conference papers.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
Open-Source Databases
These free resources offer access to open-access research, papers, and preprints, focusing on computer science and related disciplines.
-
CiteSeerXAn evolving digital library and search engine focused on computer and information science literature, offering tools for indexing research articles and promoting digital library development.
-
COREA comprehensive open-access digital library that indexes and provides full-text access to scholarly research from repositories and journals, supporting the global open-access mission
-
DOAJA comprehensive database of high-quality, peer-reviewed open-access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities, providing free and immediate access to scholarly research.
-
PLOS ONEAn open-access journal publishing rigorous, peer-reviewed research across over 200 subject areas, focusing on scientific validity rather than perceived significance, with an emphasis on transparency, reproducibility, and accessibility.
Tips for Searching Databases
-
Access through the Links Above
Use the links above to access both paid and open-access databases. These provide free access to journals, conference papers, and articles through UH's institutional subscriptions or open-access platforms.
-
Refine Your Search
Take advantage of advanced search options in the databases to narrow results by author, publication year, and specific topics. This helps you find the most relevant articles quickly.
-
Filter by Document Type
Use filtering options to narrow results by document type (e.g., journals, conference papers, books). This allows you to focus on the specific type of research you need.
-
Explore Related Research
Many databases offer links to related articles and references. Use these connections to expand your research and discover additional relevant studies.