About this Guide
This guide contains information to help you find psychosocial assessment tools or mental measurements. Please contact Irene Ke (ijke@uh.edu), the Psychology & Social Work Librarian if you need assistance.
Key Tools for Finding Tests
- PsycINFO (UH Community Only)This database includes journal articles that discuss the uses and studies of both commercial and unpublished tests.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
- PsycTESTS A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
Acknowledgement
This guide is adapted from Boston College's Social Work "Finding Tests and Measures" page, created by Kate Silfen, Reference Librarian.
Commercial v.s. Noncommercial Tests
Commercial tests (published tests) are standardized instruments/tests that have been copyrighted as stand-alone tests or test kits. They are often purchased from a test publisher. You can find information on commercial instruments by searching Mental Measurement Yearbook and Tests in Print.
Noncommercial tests (unpublished tests) are tests, scales, or instruments that have been developed by students and scholars. Unpublished tests can be found in selected books, and also in journal articles and dissertations. In general you will need to seek permission from the author to administer the test.
APA's new PsycTESTS database contains non-commercialized full-text tests.
Video: In Search of Tests & Measures by APA
Contact Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides My Schedule: 9:00 am to 5:00 PM, M-F |


Loading...
