Sociology Research Guide

Need to Check If Your Journal is PEER REVIEWED?
This Month's Featured Books
In the News
- Kobe's right: The Dream Team would lose by Prof. Shayne Lee - CNN.com
- Cohabiting women having more babies – USATODAY.com
- Fewer babies signals more than effects of recession
- Obama's Inauguration and Why We Still Need Rituals - Gianpiero Petriglieri - Harvard Business Review
- Obama makes history, again - CNN.comIncluding quotes from Dr. Shayne Lee!
- Stress doubles for Houston-area teachers - Houston weather, traffic, news | FOX 26 | MyFoxHoustonFox 26 News article and televised piece about Dr. Gary Dworkin's research!
- Hispanic vote should be a clue for Texas Republicans - Houston ChronicleDr. Tatcho Mindiola quoted in this Houston Chronicle article!
- Hispanic segregation is dropping, but not for Mexicans
- Sex survey: What's 'normal' for couples?
Getting Started in Sociology Research
Welcome! Sociology research often begins by searching for scholarly articles in "Core Sociology Databases." This is usually the best place to start. In addition, sociology research is often interdisciplinary, so check out the "Related Databases" too!
Find Sociology Articles - Core Databases
- Academic Search Complete A multidisciplinary, comprehensive database that covers 200+ journals.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text provides more than 1,300,000 article citations from sociology-specific journals. It covers all subdisciplines of sociology.
- Social Sciences Full Text This databases covers all areas of social sciences and will help you find a some sociology articles not available through SocIndex
- Web of Science Web of Science has a "Social Sciences Index" for searching a large range of citations. This is good for literature reviews!
- PsycINFO Many sociology topics are closely related to Psychology, and you can find some relevant articles searching in this premier Psychology database.
Related Article Searches
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)The premier Education databases, covering primary through Higher Education issues. Search this when your sociology topic is related to education.
- JSTOR Jstor archives scholarly articles in many subject areas, including sociology. This is best used for historical topics, not current topics.
- PubMed Sometimes sociology topics overlap with biomedical issues, search this database for comprehensive coverage in the biomedical sciences.
Sample
Contact Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
