This is the "SOC 3400" page of the "SOC 3400 - Introduction to Social Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 3400 - Introduction to Social Statistics  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/soc3400 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
SOC 3400 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Intro to Social Statistics

Image via Microsoft Office

 

Assignment

Your semester paper involves the application of some of the statistical methods we have learned in this course to answer a research question of your choice, drawing on data from the General Social Survey ("GSS").

 

Paper Format

Papers must be a MINIMUM of 5 pages, typed in 12 pt. Times New Roman or Courier font, double-spaced with margins no larger than 1.25".

            STEP 1. Select a research question

            STEP 2. Locate a minimum of FOUR academic articles from sociological journals related to your topic.

            STEP 3. Review the literature to form a hypothesis.

            STEP 4. Data analysis

Finding Articles

Find journal articles on your topic through the database links below (AccessUH/CougarNet log-in required):

  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    Sociology database. For peer-reviewed article, check off "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under Limit Your Results section.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multidisciplinary database
  • Social Sciences Full Text  
      
    Social science multidisciplinary database. For peer-reviewed article, check off "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under Limit Your Results section.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
      
    Make sure only "Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1956-present" is selected under Citation Databases section.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-text archival collection of scholarly journals.
  • OneSearch
    Search through most of the library's books and articles in one box.
 

ASA Style Quick Guide: Reference List

SOURCE TYPE EXAMPLE
BOOKS Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume       Number(Issue Number):pages.

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES RETRIEVED FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume       Number(Issue Number):pages. (Retrieved from Database Name on Month Day, Year).
WEBSITES* Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Webpage." Retrieved Month Day,       Year (http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/).

*Provide as much information as you have available.

ASA Helpful Handouts

Reference these handouts for additional examples of ASA style formatting, including in-text citations and reference lists.

Contact Your Librarian

Profile Image
Wenli Gao
Contact Info
M.D. Anderson Library
Liaison Services, Room 117Y
713-743-8370
Send Email
 

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip