This is the "Home" page of the "SOC 3373 - Comparative Family Structures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 3373 - Comparative Family Structures  

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/soc3373 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comparative Family Structures

Image via Microsoft Office

 

Possible Final Paper Topics

  • Gender relations & roles

  • Family violence (child/domestic abuse)

  • Issues of older people

  • Intergenerational relationships

  • Family caregiving

  • Single-parent households

  • Extended families

  • Biculturalism/assimilation

  • Grandparenting/Grandparent-headed households

  • Parenting styles/socialization/discipline

  • Racial/ethnic socialization/identity

  • Transracial adoption

  • Interracial marriage

  • Familial piety/familism

  • Divorce/remarriage/stepfamilies

 

Assignment

Do a literature review on a racial/ethnic minority group AND family issues.

 

Paper Format

Papers must be ~ 10 pages, typed, titled, page numbered, and stapped with references in APA or ASA Style.

  • Search for at least 10 peer-reviewed academic articles published since 2000 on the chosen topic (See 'References' section below).
  • Write a summary and critique of the articles.
  • Discuss similarities and differences in the findings and research methods used.
  • Discuss any limitations of the findings.
  • Give suggestions for future research.

References

Find journal articles on your topic through the database links below (AccessUH/CougarNet log-in required):

  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    Sociology database. Check off "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under Limit Your Results section.
  • Social Sciences Full Text  
      
    Social science multidisciplinary database. Check off "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under Limit Your Results section.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
      
    Make sure only "Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1956-present" is selected under Citation Databases section.
  • OneSearch
    Search through most of the library's books and articles in one box.
 

APA Quick Style Guide: Reference List

SOURCE TYPE EXAMPLE
BOOKS Author Lastname, A.A. (Year). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. City, Abbr. State of             publication: Publisher.   
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Author Lastname, A.A., Author Lastname, B.B., & Author Lastname, C.C. (Year). Title of article.       Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), pages.

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES (DOI ASSIGNED)

Author Lastname, A.A., & Author Lastname, B.B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume       number(issue number), pages. doi: 0000000/000000000000

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES (NO DOI ASSIGNED)

Author Lastname, A.A., & Author Lastname, B.B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume       number(issue number). Retrieved from http://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/

WEBSITES*

Author Lastname, A.A., & Author Lastname, B. B. (Year). Title of webpage. Retrieved from       http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/

*Provide as much information as you have available.

In-Text Citations Guide - http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/03/

 

ASA Style Quick Guide: Reference List

SOURCE TYPE EXAMPLE
BOOKS Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume       Number(Issue Number):pages.

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES RETRIEVED FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume       Number(Issue Number):pages. (Retrieved from Database Name on Month Day, Year).
WEBSITES* Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Webpage." Retrieved Month Day,       Year (http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/).

*Provide as much information as you have available.

ASA Helpful Handouts

Reference these handouts for additional examples of ASA style formatting, including in-text citations and reference lists.

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip