What is a Cultural Social Movement?

Image via http://hastac.org
A cultural movement is a group of people working together to advance cultural norms, beliefs, and goals that differ from those held by the mainstream society. It addresses issues of lifestyle and values more than issues of politics and the economy.
Cultural Social Movement Topics
-
Art Cars
-
Tattoo/Body Modificiation
-
Hip Hop
-
Medical Marijuana
-
Legalization of Marijuana
-
International Humanitarian Art
-
Childbirth (Natural and/or Counter Natural)
-
Food (Organic and/or Counter Organic)
-
Home Schooling
-
Tea Party
-
GBLT in Middle East & Africa
-
Sovereign Citizens
-
Anti-Indian Mascots
-
Recognition of "Mixed Race" Category
-
Language (e.g. - English only, etc.)
-
"Slow" Movement
-
Leadership Conference of the Women Religious
Assignment
Describe and analyze a new cultural social movement either as a single organizational effort or a movement that is counter to a given cultural movement.
Paper Format
Papers must be 8-pages minimum, double spaced, with 1-inch margins (vertical & horizontal).
- Cover page: Title, course#, student#, date
- Introduction: Must include a precise designation of the thesis subject or state which topic was chosen.
- Comparative Analysis: [1] Description and/or definition of the movement (Historical origins, manifesto, members). [2] Comparisons (e.g. - between two movements, same movement over time, movements on similar issues, between countries).
- Conclusion: Summarize analysis.
- References: Minimum of 10 journal articles, books, and LIMITED Internet (ACCEPTED: government, well-known news sources, and established organizations website). Reference list must be in ASA Style.
References
Find journal articles on your topic through the database links below (AccessUH/CougarNet log-in required):
- SocINDEX with Full Text Sociology database
- Social Sciences Full Text Multidisciplinary database
- PsycINFO Psychology database
- Social Work Abstracts Social Work Database
- AnthroSource Anthropology database
ASA Style Quick Guide: Reference List
| SOURCE TYPE | EXAMPLE |
| BOOKS | Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher. |
| PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES |
Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume Number(Issue Number):pages. |
| ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES RETRIEVED FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE | Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume Number(Issue Number):pages. (Retrieved from Database Name on Month Day, Year). |
| WEBSITES* | Author Lastname, Firstname Middlename. Year. "Title of Webpage." Retrieved Month Day, Year (http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/). |
*Provide as much information as you have available.
ASA Helpful Handouts
Reference these handouts for additional examples of ASA style formatting, including in-text citations and reference lists.

Loading...
