Welcome!


Top image: Courtesy of Special Collections, UH Libraries. UH Digital Library. Bottom image: Creative Commons
Using Library of Congress Subject Headings
The LCSH helps you find related information on your topic. If you locate relevant books in a keyword search, try clicking on the subject links to find more resources on this subject. Here are just a few examples of subject headings related to Revolutionary Cuba.
Essential Databases & Websites
- Contemporary World Music
- Digital National Security Archive Contains the most comprehensive collection of declassified government documents available, from post WWII-21st century.
- Dissertations & Theses Databases (ProQuest Only) This database indexes over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world; nearly one million in full text.
- Fuente Academica A unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesA bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, from the Library of Congress.
- HAPI Online The database contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Hemispheric InstituteThis site gives you access to rare videos. You can access it by setting up your account using your UH email address (@uh.edu).
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980From the print collection of UH's Arte Publico Press, this is a great digital source of primary documents.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Books, dissertations, newspapers, and journals in over 40 languages.
- Humanities International Complete Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
- JSTOR Covers many subject areas related to Latin American studies, and other general humanities.
- Latin American Network Information CenterThe Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Latin American Newspapers Collection of newspapers published in Latin America during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Latino Literature Over 33,000 pages of prose and poetry, and over 450 plays written in Spanish and English.
- MLA International Bibliography Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
- New York Times (1851-2008) with Index (1851-1993) Find primary sources from the U.S. "paper of record." Coverage from 1851-2007.
- Smithsonian Global Sound Archival recordings of music from around the world.
- Women & Social Movements International - 1840 to PresentPrimary materials on many women's issues worldwide.
- WorldCat Find materials not in the UH libraries and get them via interlibrary loan.
Related Resources
- More links to Latin American resources:
- Latin American Studies Association (LASA)
- Latin American Studies at UH
- Spanish Language Research Guide
- Special Collections - Hispanic
Writing & Citation Help
These resources will help you set up your research and papers.
UH Libraries
LibAnswers
Contact Me

If you need help, please let me know.
Alex Simons
History/Political Science/Government Documents
713-743-9776
Office Hours:
1:00-3:00pm M-F







Loading...
