Welcome!
This guide can be your starting place for finding reliable information resources.
New to PE? Read these!
Books you can get from the shelves
Devereux, S. (1999). Drilling for oil & gas: a nontechnical guide. Tulsa, OK: PennWell. (General Collection: TN871.2 D477 1999)
Hyne, N. J. (2012). Nontechnical guide to petroleum geology, exploration, drilling, and production. Tulsa, OK: Penn Well Corp. (General Collection: TN870.5 H9624 2012)
Online books (Click on the image!)
Find formulas, definitions, diagrams, etc.
Finding patents
- US Patent and Trademark OfficeOfficial site for finding U.S. patents and trademark information.
- European Patent OfficeIncludes patents from more than 80 countries
Find data for your projects and papers
- Knovel Find data whether buried in a table, graph, or chart inside hundreds of ebooks. Data can be sorted, filtered, and extracted to other formats, such as Excel, ASCII, and HTML.
- DIPPR801Process design data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design
Find journal articles
- Petroleum Abstracts TULSA DatabasePremier resource for petroleum exploration and production journal literature
- OnePetroFull text of SPE papers, Offshore Technology Conference papers and others
- AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) DatapagesFull text of AAPG Bulletin and other AAPG publications
- GeoRefPremier geology database from American Geological Institute
- ScienceDirectFull text of Elsevier journals, the largest publisher of science and technology journals
- CompendexCovers all engineering disciplines.
- Web of ScienceHighly cited journals in the sciences and engineering. Find who cited who.
- SCOPUSSimilar to Web of Science for citation searching. Find who cited who from 1996-present. Covers more publications than Web of Science.
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database that includes peer reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers
- ABI/INFORM Complete Find business related articles from Oil and Gas Journal and other sources.
Find e-books on petroleum engineering topics
Online books by UH faculty
Petroleum well construction/Michael Economides
Drilling Engineering/J.J Azar and G. Robello Samuel
Formulas and calculations for drilling operations/G. Robello Samuel
More online books.
- Knovel Look under "Oil and Gas Engineering" for access to over 200 ebooks.
- The properties of petroleum fluids, 2nd ed.
- Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, 2nd ed.
- Petroleum reservoir simulation: a basic approach
- Principles of applied reservoir simulation, 3rd ed.
- Reservoir engineering handbook, 3rd ed.
- Petroleum Reservoir Engineering Practice, 2011
Contact your librarian! |
Contact Info linden@uh.edu 713-743-9760 Links: Profile & Guides My Schedule: Have a quick question? Need an appointment? Contact me! |
Schaum's Study Guides
Work through solved problems using Schaum's Study Guides.
Find books, journals and more
Need to find books on a topic? Looking for a specific journal? Search the Library catalog
(Obtain articles and books the Library doesn't own through the free Interlibrary Loan service.)




Loading...
