Management Information Systems Guide
This guide has a wide variety of business resources. Select the following links to conduct...
BoardEX, Hoover's, Mergent, NetAdvantage, LexisNexis Company Dossier.
Country Watch, Country Studies, International Financial Statistics.
Social Explorer, U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Statistical Abstracts.
Mergent Horizon, NetAdvantage (Industry Surveys), Plunkett Research, U.S. Census Bureau: Business & Industry
Gartner Core Research, MarketResearch.com., TableBase, SRDS: Local Market Audience Analyst, Plunkett Research
The Economist, Financial Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and more.
Gartner Research
Gartner Core Research: The world's leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry, contains detailed and relevant product information, evaluations, recommendations, and measurement services on a wide range of technology issues and trends.
Includes:
- Best Practices
- Market Analysis
- Case Studies
Note: This resource is sponsored by the UH IT department.
Research Databases
Below is a small sample of the resources available for research through the M.D. Anderson Library. Click on the "Articles, Books & Databases" tab for additional resources.
- ABI/INFORM Global CougarNet Login Required
A scholarly and comprehensive business research database covering nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals with in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. - ACM Digital Library CougarNet Login Required
A searchable full text collection of ACM magazines, journals, transactions and affiliated publications, and conference proceedings. - Business Source Complete CougarNet Login Required
A scholarly business database, providing full-text context.
Includes Harvard Business Review Case Studies (1922 - Present) - Emerald Fulltext CougarNet Login Required
The world's leading publisher of management research, Emerald publications bridge the gap between the scholarly and practitioner world of management. Includes international publications. - JSTOR CougarNet Login Required.
A full-text archival collection of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Business, Economics, Finance and more. - LexisNexis Academic CougarNet Login Required
Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news. - ScienceDirect CougarNet Login Required
The leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Excellent resource for business research. - Wiley Online Library CougarNet Login Required
The world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Career Resources
Career Resources: links to information available for researching career opportunities.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook Online
- Job & Career Accelerator: Includes internships
- Job Hunting: Books & eBooks
- Resumes: Books & eBooks
- Interview Help: Books & eBooks
Business Librarian |
Contact Info University of Houston 114 University Libraries Houston, TX 77204-2000 713-743-9775 Send Email |
Industrial Classification
Should you search using a
NAICS code or SIC code?
Not sure!
Click on the "Industrial Classification" tab for more information.
Avoiding Plagiarism
This guide contains resources intended to provide practical tips for students on how to avoid plagiarism and to also answer some common questions regarding the topic. The guide contains the following sections:

Loading...
