1.) To research musical terms or read an overview of music history, consult the resources listed below.
2.) To search journal articles and library resources (books, etc.), search the Library Catalog and music-specific databases in the middle column.
3.) For research assistance, please contact Music Librarian Katie Buehner (contact info in the right-hand column).
- Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online - an encyclopedia of composers, performers, musical terms, places, instruments, eras, and much more. Works lists and bibliographies are excellent reference sources.
- Oxford History of Western Music
A comprehensive music history beginning with the development of musical notation in the early middle ages and ending with the late twentieth century. If you're looking for a basic overview of a time or trend in music history, this is a great place to look.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Abstracts music journal articles, festschiften, and other books from 1967-present. Some full-text links available.
- Music Index
Indexes music journal and magazine articles from 1970-present. Some full-text links available.
- IIMP Full Text
Indexing and abstracting of music journals and magazines from 1996-present. Some full-text available.
The following databases allow you to listen to audio files online. Files cannot be downloaded.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library also has an app for their service (Android and iOS) that is free with an account. To register for a free account, go to Naxos (through the Library website), select the "Playlists" tab, and then select "Sign up" (the link is on the right side of the screen). Once you have established an account, you will be able to log into the app and search Naxos's entire catalog. You can also create personal playlists.
- Music Online: Listening