RefWorks provides a web-based research management, writing and collaboration tool for the academic, government and corporate research communities. RefWorks supports hundreds of online databases and output styles covering a broad range of subject areas.
Knovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
The ASME Digital Collection, previously known as The ASME Digital Library, is ASME repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present, ASME Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present, ASME Press eBooks selected from 1993 to the present.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Web of Science enables users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature through cited reference searching.
Abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, it offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including more than 5,300 full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Provides comprehensive coverage of international research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The American Petroleum Institute (API) maintains more than 500 documents that apply to many segments of the oil and gas industry; from drill bits to environmental protection. API standards advocate proven, sound engineering and operating practices and safe, interchangeable equipment and materials. API standards include manuals, standards, specifications, recommended practices, bulletins, guidelines and technical reports.
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Includes full-image articles, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and the Institution of Electrical Engineers. The topics covered by this resource are computer science, various engineering fields, information science, and technology.
Patents are available via many search engines.
An excellent video from University of Central Florida shows how to use CPC (classification) codes to do a more accurate patent search.