Welcome!

Xul Solar, Vuel Villa, 1936
Latin American and Caribbean Studies encompass a wide variety of subjects, including history, politics, economics, languages, art, and music. This guide will help you find resources to enhance your research in all these areas.
Using Library of Congress Subject Headings
The LCSH helps you find related information on your topic. If you locate relevant books in a keyword search, try clicking on the subject links to find more resources on this subject. Here are just a few examples of subject headings related to Latin American & Caribbean Studies:
Latin American Anthropology Periodicals
Films and Books
- Based on a True Story: Latin American history at the moviesE-book
- Contemporary Cinema about Latin America
- The Motorcycle DiariesThis film, based on his diaries, is Che Guevara's life-changing trip around Latin America.
- Telenovelas: Love, TV, and PowerThis film examines the impact of telenovelas on Latin American culture.
Essential Databases & Websites
- CFA The Center for the AmericasThe CFA supports research and curricular development, and promotes institutional exchanges with other institutions in the Americas.
- Fuente Academica A unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesA bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, from the Library of Congress.
- HAPI Online The database contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Hemispheric InstituteThis site gives you access to rare videos. You can access it by setting up your account using your UH email address (@uh.edu).
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980From the print collection of UH's Arte Publico Press, this is a great digital source of primary documents.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressShowcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s-1970s.
- Latin American Newspapers Collection of newspapers published in Latin America during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Latin American Network Information CenterThe Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Latino Literature Over 33,000 pages of prose and poetry, and over 450 plays written in Spanish and English.
- JSTOR Covers many subject areas related to Latin American studies, and other general humanities.
- Humanities International Complete Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
- Digital National Security Archive Contains the most comprehensive collection of declassified government documents available, from post WWII-21st century.
- Dissertations & Theses Databases (ProQuest Only) This database indexes over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world; nearly one million in full text.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Books, dissertations, newspapers, and journals in over 40 languages.
- MLA International Bibliography Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
- New York Times (1851-2008) with Index (1851-1993) Find primary sources from the U.S. "paper of record." Coverage from 1851-2007.
- Contemporary World Music
- Smithsonian Global Sound Archival recordings of music from around the world.
- SMU Degolyer LibrarianRepository of SMU's special collections.
- WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs ResourcesOver 2000 frequently updated and annotated links to a wide range of information, including maps, global studies, and international organizations.
Related Resources
- Chicago & Turabian Style GuideThis research guide will help you with citations and formating.
- Chicago Citation Style
- Diana Hacker Chicago Style Guide
- Foreign Languages Guide
- Interlibrary LoanRequest journals and books to be delivered to you when we don't have the journals/books you need.
- Latin American Studies - University of Houston
- Latin American Studies Association (LASA)
- Primary and Secondary Resources Guide
- UH Hispanic Special Collections
- UH Library home page
- WorldCat
- Writing Center
Subject Guide |
![]() Contact Info M.D. Anderson Library Liaison Services, Room 117C PH: 713-743-9776 Office Hours: 1-3PM M-W, 9-11AM Th-F Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
