Skip to main content

Industrial Design Resources

Guide to industrial design resources

Home

Most of UH’s information resources on industrial design are housed in the William R. Jenkins Architecture and Art Library, which is located on the first floor of the Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture and Design.  Some materials, especially those that focus on engineering and construction, may also be found at the M.D. Anderson Library. 

For research assistance or specific questions, email archlib@uh.edu for assistance.

Research Basics for Industrial Design

WHAT IS A LIBRARY CATALOG?  It is a database where researchers can locate material that UH Libraries owns or to which it subscribes.  It contains the titles and subjects of books and e-books, dvd's and streaming videos, journals and e-journals, databases and other online research tools.  It cannot be used to search for articles; just for the journals and magazines containing those articles.  

Use the library catalog to search for materials that are broad and deep. 

WHAT IS A DATABASE?  A database is a searchable collection of data.  The databases on this guide are packaged by publishers and other vendors and available to UH researchers because the library subscribes to them.  UH researchers need to use the library's websites or catalog to access them, as they are not freely available on the Internet.  Many of the databases found on this guide are focused on a particular subject, such as building materials or maps.

Use databases to search for materials that are focused and specific.

WHAT FORMATS ARE USED IN DESIGN RESEARCH?  In addition to books, journals, and videos, which are typical for most fields of study, industrial design researchers may need to consult video tutorials, blueprints, standards, human dimension sourcebooks, product and material samples, safety regulations, patents and trademarks, code books, and sketches.

WHERE TO FIND SPECIALTY RESOURCES AT THE UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON?  The O'Quinn Law Library provides access to legal information, such as code books, safety regulations, and patent disputes.  The Jenkins Library collects human dimension sourcebooks, product and material samples, video tutorials, and standards.  Most of the engineering and scientific information provided by UH Libraries may be found in online databases.