This is the "HIST4330: Flowering of the Middle Ages" page of the "HIST 4330 - Flowering of the Middle Ages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 4330 - Flowering of the Middle Ages  

Last Updated: Jul 31, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/floweringmiddleages Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
HIST4330: Flowering of the Middle Ages Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Subject Headings

courtly loveThe LCSH helps you find related information on your topic. If you locate relevant books in a keyword search, try clicking on the subject links to find more resources on this subject. Here are some examples of general subject headings related to the Middle Ages (you'll be focusing on the period of the 11th-12th centuries):

Medieval 500-1500 Christian Art & Symbolism

Medieval 500-1500 Economic History

Medieval 500-1500 Learning & Scholarship History

Medieval 500-1500 Military Art & Science History

Medieval 500-1500 Social History

Middle Ages Historiography

You can also locate materials by LC call number ranges. For example, general Medieval history is under D111-D203, and Great Britain Medieval History is under DA129-DA260 (there are other regions under the D call #s). This is good to know if you are just looking in the library stacks (these resources are on the 7th floor of the Blue wing).


British Library Blog

 

Google Books




Key Research Tools

  • British History Online
    Includes records of religious houses, higher clergy and early urban government in the 11th & 12th centuries.
  • Dissertations and Theses-Full Text  
      
    Looking at other dissertations and theses is a great way to find original research on your topic.
  • Epistolae
    Letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century, translated from Latin.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals.
  • Internet Medieval Sourcebook
    Covers many topics and aspects of all things Medieval.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text archival collection of scholarly journals, with an eclectic variety of articles on historical and contemporary topics.
  • Naxos Music Library  
      
    The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Indexes academic journals in the arts and sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
  • The Orb: Guide to Medieval Terms
    Find explanations for words from Abbey to Zunnar.
  • World History Collection  
      
    Information sources covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alexandra (Alex) Simons
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
M.D. Anderson Library
Liaison Services, Room 117C
PH: 713-743-9776
Office Hours:
1-3PM M-W, 9-11AM Th-F
Send Email
 

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip