Environmental Engineering Research Guide Home
This guide can be your starting place for finding reliable information resources.
Web based. Free to UH faculty and students
Requires software purchase from Cougar Byte or use in the Learning Commons
- EndNote Web
Web based. Not as many features as Endnote
Web based but has desktop plugin too. Free. Unlike others, it has collaboration and networking features.
Find data whether buried in a table, graph, or chart inside hundreds of ebooks. Data can be sorted, filtered, and extracted to other formats, such as Excel, ASCII, and HTML.
- Knovel data search demo
Watch this 2 minute demo to see how!
- ASCE Online Research Library
Full text to the journals and conference papers from ASCE.
Good for topics of air/water/soil quality. From American Geological Institute
Full text of Elsevier journals, the largest publisher of science and technology journals
Covers all engineering disciplines.
- Web of Science
Highly cited journals in the sciences and engineering. Find who cited who from 1955-present.
Similar to Web of Science for citation searching. Find who cited who from 1996-present. Covers more publications than Web of Science.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that includes peer reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers
- Environment Complete
- Wiley Online Library
Articles from this science and technology publisher.
Articles from Springer, a large science and technology publisher.
- SciFinder Scholar
Premier database for chemistry. Search by topic and by substance. Do a structure search!
(NOTE: You must register using the link below in order to access Scifinder.)
- (Register here for Scifinder Scholar)
Originally combined data from the Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Patent Chemistry Database and is now updated directly from the source literature.
Work through solved problems using Schaum's Study Guides.
Refer back to content covered in ENGI2304