HoursMy Library AccountComputers & PrintingOneSearchFor Faculty & Graduate StudentsInterLibrary loan (ILL)
TextbooksDrug MonographsMultimedia
HAM-TMC Journal ListHAM-TMC Database ListHAM-TMC List of e-BooksSCOPUS DatabaseMICROMEDEX Database
From Access Pharmacy and StatRefFrom Library Catalog
This is the "Home" page of the "PCOL 6397 - Drug Design & Discovery" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PCOL 6397 - Drug Design & Discovery   Tags: pcol6397, pharmacology, pharmacology6397  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/drug_design Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

 

Bibliography Tools

Create your research paper's bibliography quickly and easily......

RefWorks

Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography.  More informatiion about RefWorks

EndNote Web

Another good tool that allows you to gather citations from research articles and then easily create a bibliography formated in the latest APA style format.

 

Other Web Links

Texas Administrative Code (Texas State Board of Pharmacy)

Course Textbook

The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry by Wermuth (3rd Edition)      This is a full-text electronic version

One additional print copy is also on RESERVES located at the Anderson Library front desk.  CLICK HERE  to get a call number to take to the front desk. 

Finding Research Articles for Your Research Paper

Use these databases to find research articles about your topic.

  • SCOPUS  
      
    UH Libraries Has recently purchased this database for a 3 year trial as of September, 2011
  • PubMed
    This is the major database for all medical research areas.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
  • PubGet
    Pubget provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences for open access journals and journals to which the University of Houston subscribes, including those in PubMed.
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts  
      
    Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    This database also allows you to draw a chemical structure and then find articles about that structure. You can also search by a chemical formula.

Finding Information on Drugs

Use these databases to locate drug monograph information, plus physical and chemical properites of specific drugs such as adverse effect, dosage form, molecular formula, solubility, stucture, etc.

  • StatRef
    Provides the full text of nearly 100 medical and pharmaceutical reference works. STATRef provides information about diagnosis, treatments, drug interactions and uses, and patient referrals.
  • MICROMEDEX [Requires HAM-TMC Login]
    Provides standard drug information, plus good section for drug identification, drug interaction, and drugs IV compatibility. Allows you to compare drugs together for compatability. Provides pricing information via the Red Book.
  • Lexicomp [Requires UH College of Pharmacy Student Login]
    Provides useful data on drugs such as interactions and I.V. compatibilities. Also provides a drug identifier tool and a nice fill-in-the blanks medical calculations tool similar to Access Pharmacy.
  • ChemID Plus
    Provides Registry Numbers (RN), formulas, structure diagrams and other physical properties of Drugs and chemicals
  • FDA -- Drugs
    U.S. FDA web site that gives all kinds of information about drugs-- including recently approved drugs, drugs recalled, The Orange Book, and the National Drug Code Directory.
  • Clinical Trials.gov
    A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers.
  • Orange Book (FDA Approved Drugs)
    A good resource for finding a list of the latest drugs approved for consumer use by the FDA. In order to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs, the Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new
  • Drugs.com
    A commercial web site that offers a handy "pill identifier" option, along with other useful information about individual drugs.

Contact your Librarian

Profile Image
Cherie Turner
Contact Info
email: ckturner2@uh.edu
phone: (713) 743-9768
office: 117U M.D. Anderson Library
Send Email
 

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip