BrunerChanCiuffetelliClandinin/ConnellyConleCraigElbaz-LuwischHeHuberKitchenOlsonPhillionPinnegarRossXuRemaining Authors A-DRemaining Authors E-KRemaining Authors L-PRemaining Authors R-Z
This is the "CUIN 8385 Home" page of the "CUIN 8385 - Experience Based Research II (Craig)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CUIN 8385 - Experience Based Research II (Craig)   Tags: education  

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/cuin8385craig Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

CUIN 8385 Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources for Graduate Research in Education

Here are some of the core resources that you'll find most helpful for completing your literature review.

  • ERIC  
      
    ERIC is one of the core education databases out there in the discipline. It contains peer reviewed and trade articles, dissertations and reports.

    You can limit your search here to look at just literature reviews or dissertations. No one said you can't use someone else's lit review to find articles for your own research! These are gold mines if you can find the right one.
  • Education Source  
      
    Lit searches need to be comprehensive. No matter how big one database is, other databases will have different coverage of journals/publications so to say you've truly scoured the literature for information on your topic, you'll want to try multiple databases. Especially when it comes to multidisciplinary topics!

    Education Source is a good database to include for additional coverage in education.
  • Dissertations and Theses-Full Text  
      
    Looking at other dissertations and theses is a great way to find original research on your topic, but you can also get a good sense of the kind of work you'll be expected to produce yourself.

    When you find a dissertation that deals with your topic, even in a tangential way, their own lit search chapter will be a gold mine of possible sources for you to consider.

    This database does not have a strong thesaurus, so you'll have to rely mostly on keywords.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Web of Science is a great source for scholarly materials. Don't worry! It's not just for science!

    You may want to try using the Cited Reference Search. This will let you take a good article that you know about already, and search for all the articles that have cited that article! Really great way to move forward in time in a subject.
  • WorldCat.org  
      
    At this level of research, you can't be limited to what we happen to have in the collection. Don't get me wrong, we've got a great one, but we can't be expected to have everything in the world!

    WorldCat will let you search the collections of libraries all over the world. It's also integrated with our interlibrary loan system, so if you find something that you want you can click on the Request through ILL button and have our ILL form filled out automatically.
  • Citation Management Tools
    One thing that's really important when you're gathering this much research is keeping track of it all!

    Citation management tools give you a place to store and organize all those references you pull from databases, catalogs. They even help you write your paper by properly formatting the citations in your paper.

    Check out this page for tools that you can use. I can assist you with RefWorks related questions.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shawn Vaillancourt
 

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip