Social Work Resources
Welcome to the Graduate College of Social Work Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Social Work related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Data and Statistics
The sources listed below provide access to health, social, and behavioral sciences data and statistics resources.
Library Statistics Databases
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 185+ billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Sage Data repository. Sage Data offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowTopics range from American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowMust first create a login to access off-campus
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.
Data Sets
- Common Core of Data (CCD), National Center for Education StatisticsCCD is the Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States. CCD is a comprehensive, annual, national database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts.
- CDC Public-Use Data Files, National Center for Health StatisticsThe National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) offers downloadable public-use data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems.
- Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data SetsMaintains data sets about juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.
- Current Population Survey (CPS)Data from the Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). The CPS is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
- Data.govData.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service.
- General Social Survey (GSS), National Opinion Research CenterThe GSS has been a reliable source of data to help researchers, students, and journalists monitor and explain trends in American behaviors, demographics, and opinions.
- Google Public Data ExplorerGoogle Public Data Explorer provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions. The tool is meant to make datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate.
- KIDS COUNT Data CenterKIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families in the United States.
- National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)The NACDA, located within ICPSR, acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, and offers opportunities for secondary analysis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)The NACJD archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. Housed at ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research.)
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN)The NDACAN promotes secondary analysis of child abuse and neglect data by providing researchers with high quality datasets, documentation and technical support, and encourages collaboration within the scientific community.
- Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR)The PSID began in 1968 and was originally created to study the dynamics of income and poverty. Over the past five decades, the study has been expanded to collect information on health, wealth, expenditures, philanthropy, child development, the transition to adulthood, and more.
- Social Security Administration Public-Use Data FilesThe U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA) administers Social Security, a social insurance program consisting of retirement, disability, and survivors' benefits.
Statistical Resources
- Census BureauOffers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data.
- Children's Bureau, Office of the Administration for Children and FamiliesThe Children’s Bureau (CB) partners with federal, state, tribal and local agencies to improve the overall health and well-being of our nation’s children and families.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway, U.S. Department of Health & Human ServicesInformation clearinghouse for publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools on all topics related to child welfare, including child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption.
- HUD UserProvides data sets generated by the HUD Office of Policy Development and Research. Effors include the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, and microdata from research initiatives such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- National Center for Health StatisticsCompiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
- National Equity AtlasThe Atlas provides data on demographic change, racial inclusion, and the economic benefits of equity for the 100 largest cities, 150 largest regions, all 50 states, and the United States. The Atlas is the product of a formal partnership between PolicyLink and the USC Program for Environmental and Regional Equity (PERE).
- National Institute of Mental Health StatisticsStatistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
- Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping America and the world. It also conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
- SAMHSA's Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ)Collects the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and other drug abuse including data on drug related emergency department episodes, medical examiner cases, and about the nation's substance abuse treatment system.
- U.S. Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistical information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- Welfare Rules Database (WRD)Created by the Urban Institute, the WRD provides a comprehensive, sophisticated resource for anyone comparing cash assistance programs between states, researching changes in cash assistance rules within a single state, or simply looking for the most up-to-date information on the rules governing cash assistance in one state.
- World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)The WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1,000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
Search
Quick Links
- USA.govUSA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
- Directory of Federal AgenciesA-Z index of U.S. federal government departments and agencies.
Librarian
Rachel Helbing
she/her