Welcome!

This guide provides resources that are relevant to students and faculty in the Department of Computer Science.
______________________
Find Books / Journals
Search a wide variety of physical and online library content simultaneously.
Handbooks / Tech Books
Handbooks and technical books are useful for providing basic practical information for how to get things done. For instance here are ebooks on game development.
- ENGnetBASE Searchable collection of CRC engineering handbooks. Searches at chapter level.
- Safari Tech Books Online eBook collection searchable at the chapter level. Primarily deals with software development or web-related topics. Contains O'Reilly books among others.
Find Articles
Use these suggested databases to find articles on most computer science topics. Questions? Contact your librarian.
For additional databases, use the Databases tab on the library homepage.
- IEEE Xplore Publications of IEEE and IET (British version of IEEE). Includes standards and conference proceedings.
- ACM Digital Library Publications of the Association for Computing Machinery. Includes conference proceedings.
- Web of Science Find who cited who from 1955-present. Great for tracing literature and for impact values.
- SCOPUSSimilar to Web of Science for citation searching. Find who cited who from 1996-present. Covers more publications than Web of Science.
- ScienceDirect Materials published by Elsevier, a particular prolific science publisher. Broad science and technical coverage.
- arXiv.org Electronic pre-publication of papers primarily in physics, math, and computer science.
- Engineering Village Searches three databases simultaneously: Compendex (broad engineering topics), Inspec (publications of IET, British parallel to IEEE), and NTIS (government technical reports).
- SpringerLinkPublications from Springer, a prolific science publisher. Try their Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.
- CiteSeerXOne of the largest repositories of computer science literature and data. Produced at Penn State.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, books, and more that the UH Libraries do not have access to. Faculty may also use ILL to request items the Libraries do own in order to receive them via email.
New to ILL? Watch this video!
Research Support Librarian |
Live Chat: Please include email with chat questions!!! |
Schaum's Study Guides
Sparknotes for college! Work through solved problems using Schaum's Study Guides.
Short "lectures" on CS topics
These titles are part of a series of 100+ page "lectures" by faculty and other experts in the field. Get more background and a good overview of the topic.



Loading...
