Welcome

By Marion S. Trikosko, U.S. News & World Report Magazine [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Finding Books
Using the Library of Congress Subject Headings
The LCSH helps you find related information on your topic. If you locate relevant books in a keyword search, try clicking on the subject links to find more resources on this subject. Here are some examples of subject headings related to the Civil Rights movement.
Civil Rights Movement Birmingham 20th Century
Civil Rights Movements Southern States 20th Century
Movies & Documentaries
- Amistad
- Citizen KingPBS documentary about Martin Luther King Jr.
- Civil Rights MovementJohn Lewis's speech to Congress on the 40th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineMany streaming videos, searchable by geographic area.
- Eyes on the PrizePBS series about the civil rights movement from 1965-1985.
- Internet ArchiveTons of videos, music, and images.
- Malcolm XSpike Lee's movie about this key figure in the civil rights movement.
- RootsTV miniseries about Alex Haley's family.
- Roots of Resistance: the story of the Underground Railroad
- Slavery and the Making of America
- Standing on My Sisters' ShouldersTrue story of the three Mississippi women in 1965, who walked into the US House of Representatives in Washington D.C.to seek their civil rights.
- The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman
Databases and Websites
- African American Newspapers Full-text collection of African American newspapers from the 1800s.
- African Studies Companion A collection of African studies journals from all parts of Africa.
- Aluka Great scholarly material. (Available on campus only; remote users must first set up a username and password from an on-campus location.)
- America: History & Life
- American Slavery Collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states from 1936-38.
- Black Studies Center Holdings from many collections, including the Schomburg collection.
- Black Thought and Culture Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive Reports on a variety of topics, with pro/con discussions.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
- JSTOR Scholarly articles on from many journals, including African and African-American resources.
- New York Times (1851-2008) with Index (1851-1993) Primary documents in the "paper of record."
- ProQuest Congressional Current and historical congressional publications.
- PolicyFileU.S. foreign & domestic policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Voyages: Transatlantic Slave TradeInformation on over 35,000 slave voyages.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
E-Books & Magazines
Here are just a few of the many ebooks and journals available on the civil rights movement.
- African American ReviewEssays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
- Civil Rights and the Idea of FreedomThis e-book follows the history of civil rights.
- Civil Rights UnionismThis e-book covers the history of the role of unions in the civil rights movement.
- Ebony MagazineFrom 1945 to the present. The print version also contains great images, from clothing to advertising.
- Essence MagazineArticles from 1988-present.
- JetFrom 1992-present. UHD has the print version.
- Women and the Civil Rights Movement, 1954-1965
How to Cite using Chicago Style
Subject Guide |
![]() Contact Info M.D. Anderson Library Liaison Services, Room 117C PH: 713-743-9776 Office Hours: 1-3PM M-W, 9-11AM Th-F Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
