Social Work Resources
Welcome to the Graduate College of Social Work Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Social Work related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Clinical Work Resources
This page will lead you to databases, online videos, and other resources related to clinical work.
Streaming Video Collections
- APA PsycTherapy This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycTherapy is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice with demonstrations of psychotherapy done by today's leading practitioners. It is a resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video resource available to instructors wishing to use streaming video in their courses. To request access please use the Streaming Media Request form.
Recommended Databases
Biomedicine Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new windowEMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Evidence-Based Practice Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesPubMed Clinical Queries allows you to quickly and easily search for relevant clinical literature on etiology, prognosis, diagnosis and therapy of diseases and diagnostics. PubMed Clinical Queries is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.
Clinical Tools
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care clinical resource. Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
Remote Access
You can access UH Libraries' online resources from anywhere!
To access online resources (e.g. databases, articles) while off campus, you will be asked to log in with your CourgarNet account. Once you log in, you will be redirected to the online resource you selected. You must be a current student, faculty, or staff.
If you do not know your CougarNet account information, then please contact UIT Support Center at:
713-743-1411
or chat with a support representative.
If you have any difficulties accessing UH Libraries' online resources, please use this form to let us know!
Search
DSM Collection
- DSM LegacyPrevious editions of DSM are included here for reference and archival purposes.
- Other e-booksavailable in Psychiatry Online
Librarian
Rachel Helbing
she/her