Social Work Resources
Welcome to the Graduate College of Social Work Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Social Work related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Books and eBooks
The books listed below are recommended, supplemental resources.
Electronic copies of books: Many texts are available online via the library's ebook databases, and direct links to the ebooks are provided when available.
Print copies of books: Recommended textbooks may not be available online. A limited number of print copies are available in the library. Call numbers are listed for any books that are available in print. Print-only titles are linked to their record in the library catalog where you can check availability at campus library locations.
Social Work Books and eBooks
Recommended Texts
Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice
Links theory to practice with clear, concise instruction including a discussion of evidence-based practice. Includes case studies and first-person contributions from practicing social workers to illustrate the real-world scenarios in which different concepts apply.
ISBN: 9781118859711
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities
Explores the many types of assistive technology available for individuals with a variety of physical and cognitive disabilities, with emphasis placed on high-tech solutions. Examines key issues related to assistive technology, such as access and affordability.
ISBN: 9781440835117
Case Management: An Introduction to Concepts and Skills
This fourth edition, which focuses on both the social work and nursing professions, offers trainers, instructors, and students detailed information about how case management is delivered, major issues encountered in practice, how services are affected by different populations, and the unique skills that are required by case managers in order to be effective.
ISBN: 9780190858889
Critical Thinking and the Process of Evidence-Based Practice
Provides a detailed description of the process of evidence-based practice (EBP), designed to help individual practitioners and their clients make informed decisions. Covers clinical expertise, argumentation, avoidance of biases and fallacies, and common organizational and personal obstacles in optimizing quality of services.
ISBN: 9780190463359
Feminist Perspectives on Social Work Practice: The Intersecting Lives of Women in the 21st Century
A contemporary look at the issues across a wide spectrum, beyond just equal pay for equal work and reproductive rights, with which women struggle on a daily basis. Will help readers to gain an understanding of populations of women that they might/will work with in the field of human services. Uses demographics, case studies, and best practice/evidence-based programs to provide students and practitioners with a comprehensive knowledge of women from a feminist perspective.
ISBN: 9780190858780
Integrative Body-Mind-Spirit Social Work: An Empirically Based Approach to Assessment and Treatment
Strongly connects Western therapeutic techniques with Eastern philosophy and practices, while also providing a comprehensive and pragmatic agenda for social work, and mental health professionals.
ISBN: 9780190458515
Palliative Care: A Guide for Health Social Workers
Guides and inspires health social workers to integrate palliative care principles into their current clinical practice. Also models engagement, assessment, and intervention through key palliative care skills and language.
ISBN: 9780190669607
Social Workers Count: Numbers and Social Issues
Provides social workers and those in neighboring disciplines with the background necessary to engage the quantitative aspects of policy and social issues relevant to social work.
ISBN: 9780190467135
The Social Work Field Instructor's Survival Guide
A sage, practical guide for social work field instructors who want to provide expert guidance to their students in the field and in the classroom. Helps instructors to master the nuts and bolts of field education by delineating how to orient students to field work and supervision, monitor cases, evaluate student performance, navigate professional ethics, comply with CSWE practice competencies, and fulfill all requirements of a social work practicum.
ISBN: 9780826127761
Spirituality and Hospice Social Work
Draws upon multidisciplinary theory and research to advance a relational model of spiritually sensitive hospice care. Helps practitioners understand various forms of spiritual assessment for use with their clients.
ISBN: 9780231543187
Reference Sources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5
Defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. Concise and explicit criteria facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2013ISBN: 9780890425572Encyclopedia of Social Work A continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Incudes 400+ overview articles on key topics from international issues to ethical standards, 200+ biographies on key figures, and references and links to related social work resources.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Provides over 1,800 definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covers social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education.
Call Number: HV12 .H37 2018ISBN: 9780198796688
Encyclopedia of Disability
Over 1,000 entries across 4 volumes. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
ISBN: 0761925651
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Over 500 entries address social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. Topical entries cover historical and modern perspectives on drug, alcohol, and tobacco use in more than 30 countries and regions, including the Caribbean, the Middle East, and China.
ISBN: 9780028660646
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care
This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines.
ISBN: 9780826137357
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Entries provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential people, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail.
Call Number: HV12 .E497 2005ISBN: 9780761925842
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
This Encyclopedia attempts to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Available in 26 volumes, it comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Call Number: H41 .I58 2001 v.1 - v.26ISBN: 9780080430768
Social Workers' Desk Reference
Comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work.
ISBN: 9780190251482
Social Work Masters Exam Guide by
Features improved ASWB exam prep strategies, expanded analysis of exam content, and test-taking tips. This recent third (3rd) edition - published in 2020 - of the bestselling, acclaimed exam guide for the ASWB Social Work Masters Exam has been thoroughly updated to reflect current practice and core knowledge tested on the exam.
ISBN: 9780826185624Publication Date: 2020
Social Work ASWB Masters Exam Prep Guide
Written by a prominent social work leader and trainer for social work licensing exams in the United States, the first (1st) edition of this guide - published in 2015 - mirrors the ASWB Masters "Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities" upon which the exam is based and incorporates information from the DSM-5(R).
ISBN: 9780826172037Publication Date: 2015
Remote Access
You can access UH Libraries' online resources from anywhere!
To access online resources (e.g. databases, articles) while off campus, you will be asked to log in with your CourgarNet account. Once you log in, you will be redirected to the online resource you selected. You must be a current student, faculty, or staff.
If you do not know your CougarNet account information, then please contact UIT Support Center at:
713-743-1411
or chat with a support representative.
If you have any difficulties accessing UH Libraries' online resources, please use this form to let us know!
Search
DSM Collection
- DSM LegacyPrevious editions of DSM are included here for reference and archival purposes.
- Other e-booksavailable in Psychiatry Online
eBook Collections
Librarian
Rachel Helbing
she/her
Finding Print Books
To find print books available at the UH Libraries, click on the link above and search by Keyword, Title, Author, Subject, or ISSN.