Economics Resources
Economic Indicator Databases
Resources to which the library subscribes include the following:
- IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new windowFrom the IMF. Includes current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, prices, national accounts, and international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment positions)
- WDI Online This link opens in a new windowWDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data from the World Bank with time series for over 200 countries. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- Data Planet (formerly Statistical Datasets)Statistical Insights provides a number of datasets, primarily from the US federal government, on a wide variety of subjects (from crude oil prices to the prime rate)
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data), a database of 21,316 U.S. economic time series.
This is an incredible resource for economic data about the United States.
- Banking
- Business/Fiscal
- Consumer Price Indexes (CPI)
- Employment & Population
- Exchange Rates
- Foreign Exchange Intervention
- Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
- Interest Rates
- Monetary Aggregates
- Producer Price Indexes (PPI)
- Reserves and Monetary Base
- U.S. Trade & International Transactions
- U.S. Financial Data
- Regional Data
Other Federal Reserve banks specialize in data research as well:
-You may need to review the Beige Book
-Or look at the Center for Microeconomic Data (in addition, the NY Fed has a great calendar showing updates to all national economic indicators; it also hosts the Survey of Consumer Expectations)
-Or review the data for the Texas regional area (through the Dallas Fed).
International Monetary Fund & WEO Outlook
Source:Wikimedia
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Also available are the reports, books, and other materials that the IMF produces.
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database is created during the biannual WEO exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the April and September WEO publication.
Principal Global Indicators
Provided by the The Inter-Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics (IAG).
IAG is comprised of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), the European Central Bank (ECB), Eurostat, the International Monetary Fund (IMF, Chair), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the United Nations (UN), and the World Bank (WB).
The PGI dataset provides data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and the five members of the Financial Stability Board that are not part of the G-20. It provides information on major economic indicators covering financial, governmental, external, and real sector data.
Principal Federal Economic Indicators (USA)
The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) releases yearly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by its constituent bureaus, the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
U.S. Government Resources
Access to national, regional, international and industry economic accounts data. Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income and Outlays, Consumer Spending, Trade in Goods & Services, Annual Industry Accounts, GDP by State & Metropolitan Area.
The principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the broad field of labor, economics, and statistics. It provides data on employment, wages, inflation, productivity, and many other topics.
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.