Skip to main content
Banner Image Research Guides

American History Research Guide

Find books, databases, primary sources, and other resources related to American History.

Your librarian

Alex Simons
4333 University Dr.
Houston, TX 77204-2000

Historical Periodicals Online

Where featured, click on the information icon to find out what the databases contain.The following databases are accessible to UH students & faculty only.

Bound Journals

Bound journals can be found in the basement of the M.D. Anderson Library. There are many interesting peer-reviewed and popular journals available. A number of these periodicals date back to the late 1800-early 1900s, and are not currently available in digital formats. If you need help, just ask at the Information desk.

Microfiche & Microfilm

The Libraries maintain many periodicals and government documents on microfilm and microfiche that are not accessible in print or electronically. Just check the online catalog to find out their classification. At the M.D. Anderson Library, most of them are located on the first floor in Access Services. The readers have printers attached. 

Historical Newspapers Online

What we refer to now is not always what it was called at the time, for example World War I won't work as a search term at the time of the war, so search for specific battles, or people, instead.  

Interactive US newspaper map - 19th & early 20th century

Special Collections at UH

The Special Collections department on the second floor of the M.D. Anderson Library contains a wealth of primary source material, including books, maps, ephemera (postcards, posters, playbills), art works, oral histories, etc. The contents of these collections can be found via Archon. Many of these collections are being digitized too, and can be accessed, along with other universities' collections, through CONTENTdm