Lambda Alpha Journal
Lambda Alpha Journal (of the Anthropology Honor Society) is now available!
Half of the content is devoted to student research, so it's a great resource to see what other students have conducted research on. You can get ideas on how to structure your own research projects.
View the online issues at:
http://soar.wichita.edu/xmlui/handle/10057/782.
Video Help!
We have created a lot of help videos for using library services and resources. Enjoy!
American Anthropologist

(By Michel Teiten http://www.mablehome.com (Own work) CC)
Loading...
Savage Minds
Notes and Queries in Anthropology — A Group Blog
Loading...
Field Methods
Loading...
Welcome!
Welcome to the Anthropology Research Guide! Here you will find information about and links to resources to assist you with your Anthropology courses and projects. Your primary resource will be the database AnthroSource, but due to the multidisciplinary nature of Anthropology, you should also search databases in other areas such as sociology, medicine, and psychology.
Key Research Tools
- AnthroSource
- Annual Review of Anthropology
- Academic Search Complete
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- PsycINFO
- Voice of the Shuttle
- Dissertations & Theses Databases (ProQuest Only)
- Archive.org
- JSTOR
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Ethnographic Video Online
- tDAR (The Digital Archaeological Record)
- SSRN - Anthropology & Archaeology Network
- Wiley Online Library
E-Reference
Anthropology eReference
The UH Libraries offer access to many electronic reference resources in Anthropology and related disciplines. Collections include:
- Sage E-Reference (publishers of the Encyclopedia of Anthropology)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (includes Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Encyclopedia of Sociology and much more)
- Blackwell Reference Online (including Duranti's A Companion to Linguistic Anthropology)
- Greenwood eBooks (titles in physical and cultural anthropology)
The UH Libraries also offer electronic access to the following anthropology reviews:
- Annual Review of Anthropology (1972 - present)
- Reviews in Anthropology (1974 - present)
E-Books
E-Books in Anthropology
The UH Libraries own thousands of electronic books (e-books) across all subjects and disciplines. To find these e-books in the catalog, use the "Advanced Keyword" search and limit your results to "EBOOK" as material type. You can also view a list of the most recent e-books in anthropology.
Associations
Contact Your Librarian! |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Library Call Numbers
Relevant books on anthropology are shelved together on the 5th Floor, Brown Wing.
GN1-890 Anthropology
GN49-298 Physical anthropology. Somatology
GN51-59 Anthropometry
GN62.8-265 Human variation
GN269-279 Race (General)
GN280.7 Man as an animal. Simian traits versus human traits
GN281-289 Human evolution
GN282-286.7 Fossil man. Human paleontology
GN296-296.5 Medical anthropology
GN301-674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
GN357-367 Culture and cultural processes including social change, structuralism, diffusion, etc.
GN378-396 Collected ethnographies
GN397-397.7 Applied anthropology
GN406-517 Cultural traits, customs, and institutions
GN406-442 Technology. Material culture including food, shelter, fire, tools, etc.
GN448-450.8 Economic organization. Economic anthropology
GN451-477.7 Intellectual life including communication, recreation, philosophy,
religion, knowledge, etc.
GN478-491.7 Social organization
GN492-495.2 Political organization. Political anthropology
GN495.4-498 Societal groups, ethnocentrism, diplomacy, warfare, etc.
GN502-517 Psychological anthropology
GN537-674 Ethnic groups and races
GN550-674 By region or country
GN700-890 Prehistoric archaeology


Loading...
