Library of Congress Subject Headings
How to use the Library of Congress Subject Headings
The LCSH helps you find related information on your topic. If you locate relevant books in a keyword search, try clicking on the subject links to find more resources on this subject. Here are some examples of subject headings related to the Crusades and the Normans.
Image: Wikipedia Commons
Key Research Tools
These databases and websites will help you find articles and other resources. (Click on the information icon
to find out what the databases contain.The databases are accessible to UH students & faculty only.)
- Historical Abstracts
- Humanities International Complete
- JSTOR
- Middle English DictionaryA comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Project Muse
- World History Collection
- Avalon Project at YaleDocuments translated into English in law, history, and diplomacy ranging from 4000bce to the 21st century.
- Catholic EncyclopediaA great resource with tons of links to major events and people during the Crusades.
- Digital ScriptoriumImage database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from institutions around the world.
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's LettersA collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. Translated into English.
- Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Internet Medieval SourcebookLinks to many scholarly sites.
- Medieval ReviewThis online version of the journal contains reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies.
- Voice of the ShuttleLinks to a variety of sites about the various aspects of the Crusades.




Loading...
