This is the "Home" page of the "POLS 3369 - The American Presidency" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLS 3369 - The American Presidency   Tags: political science, pols3369  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/POLS3369 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Databases & Websites

  • The American Presidency Project
    Archives contain 103,216 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
  • Whitehouse.gov
    Official site for the Presidential administration.
  • U.S. Department of State
    Information, news releases, and more.
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Presidential Vetoes
    Link to the pdf explaining the Veto Override Procedure in the House & Senate. There are links to other helpful information here, too.
  • Policies Agenda Project
    Traces changes in the national policy agenda.Includes trend analysis tools.
  • GovSpeak
    Acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the U.S. federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.
  • JSTOR  
      
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Links to U.S. Federal regulations, codes, legal news, and much more.
  • ProQuest Congressional  
      
    ProQuest Congressional provides searchable full-text access to current and historical congressional publications including committee prints, hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, and the U.S. Serial Set.
  • CQ Public Affairs Collection  
      
    Content covers 22 key areas of public affairs research.

Polling Organizations & Think Tanks

There are many think tanks and polling organizations. While some are regarded as non-partisan, others have a definite bias to the right or left. Research them and make up your own mind.

 

How a bill becomes a law

Print and e-resources

Pres campaignspres electionspres leg agendastrategic pres

The library contains many print and e-resources on the U.S. Presidency. The call numbers starting with JK and KF will lead you to relevant resources, some of which are in the UH Law Center Library. For those interested in politics influenced by religion, the BL area is where to look. Presidential biographies are also a great resource. (Click on the images above to get information.)

Here are more books, online journals, and encyclopedias that will help with your research:

 

Search tips for this subject

When searching for articles and books, try using these search terms (NOTE: the * at the end of "presiden*" will bring up all variations of the word, i.e., presidency, president, etc.): 

  • "united states presiden*" and committees (putting your phrases in quotes will bring up articles and books using that phrase)
  • "united states presiden*" and legislat*
  • "united states presiden*" and "campaign finance"
  • "presidential politics"
  • president* and "foreign policy"

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alexandra (Alex) Simons
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
M.D. Anderson Library
Liaison Services, Room 117C
PH: 713-743-9776
Office Hours:
1-3PM M-W, 9-11AM Th-F
Send Email
 

Library session survey

Presidential Vetoes

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip