This site, currently in beta, is replacing the Library of Congress THOMAS legislative research site.
- Congressional Bills Project
A relational database of over 400,000 public and private bills introduced in the U.S. House and Senate since 1947. The dataset is primarily intended for use by scholars and students of legislative politics.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Covers a number of issues, complete with pro/con views and analysis.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- Federal Legistlative Histories Research Online
A very comprehensive and well annotated guide to lawmaking. Many links to electronic resources.
Acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the U.S. federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.
Research and follow pending legislation. This site is very comprehensive and easy to use.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A full-text resource covering significant social issues. This database provides pro and con viewpoint articles, with a lot of resources for research.
- ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides searchable full-text access to current and historical congressional publications including committee prints, hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, and the U.S. Serial Set.
- Social Explorer
Census information from 1790-present, including the American Community Survey (ACS) up to 2006-2008. (UH database.)
- The Legislative Process
Short videos from Congress.gov explaining how the process works.
Rankings, datasets, and a variety of reports.
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
- Encyclopedia of Political Science
There are many think tanks and polling organizations. While some are regarded as non-partisan, others have a definite bias to the right or left. Research them and make up your own mind.
The library contains many print and e-books on the U.S. Congress and the legislative process. The call numbers starting with JK and KF will lead you to relevant resources. For those interested in politics influenced by religion, the BL area is where to look. Political biographies are also a great resource. (Click on the images above to get information and/or access if e-book.)
When searching for articles and books, try using these search terms:
- "united states congress" and committees (putting your phrases in quotes will bring up articles and books using that phrase)
- "united states congress" and legislat* (the asterisk brings up all from of the word)
- "united states congress" and "campaign finance"
- "congressional politics"