The formation of the American republic.
Click on the information icon to find out what the databases contain.
Here are some key databases that contain primary documents. There are also a number of other historical newspapers available through the main History Research Guide.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Includes newspapers from every region of the U.S.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
Images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- Civil War, a Newspaper Perspective
Contains the full text of major articles from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
- Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
- Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003)
Historical newspaper from 1791-2003.
- HeritageQuest Online
An essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.
- ProQuest Congressional
Includes the American State Papers, Serial Set, and other historical documents.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture
Contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
- Social Explorer
Provides U.S. demographic data back to 1790 through data reports and interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried, and manipulated on the site.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Covers a multitude of women's social activism through books, images, documents, and more.
Use these resources to find articles about your topic.
- Academic Search Complete
General information and articles about a variety of topics.
- America, History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Articles and commentary on a variety of subjects in American History and other areas.