- BBC British History
Links to numerous articles and information from 1066-present. Covers military history, foreign relations, and other topics.
- British History Online
A digital library containing primary and secondary sources from medieval to present-day Britain.
- Irish History Online
An authoritative guide to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains over 75,000 bibliographic records.
- National Archives of the UK
The UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history.
- Recovered Histories
18th & 19th century literature digitized from the Anti-Slavery International archives.
- Scotland's History
A very informative site from the BBC.
- Kindred Britain
Find links between well-known figures in English history. A fun site to use.
- British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of more than 460 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
- Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
The Times of London is an excellent primary source database.
- Periodicals Archive Online
1665-2000. Contains periodicals from a number of countries, with full-text content.
- Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
- Early English Books Online
Contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Primary documents on a variety of subjects, by a variety of authors. A companion to Early English Books Online (EEBO).
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered by the complementary America: History and Life database) from 1450 to the present.
Full-text archival collection of scholarly journals covering a large number of subjects.
- Humanities International Complete
Includes full text for more than 770 journals.
- MLA International Bibliography
Articles on literature, language, and much more.
- World History Collection
- Project Muse
Articles from academic journals on history, culture, society, and more.