Citation StylesAvoiding PlagiarismUndergraduate Research PapersPresentation Skills
This is the "Home" page of the "BCHS 4311- Biochemistry Lab II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BCHS 4311- Biochemistry Lab II   Tags: biochemistry lab ii, dr. pattison  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/BCHS4311 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the BCHS 4311 Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research. 

Electronic Reference Resources

Core Databases

Use these databases to find journal articles on your topic.  Specialized databases can improve efficiency and precision, but be cautions not to overlook relevant materials that may appear in interdisciplinary databases and the library catalog.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including more than 5,300 full-text journals.
  • ACS Publications  
      
    American Chemical Society Publications include peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
  • ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles, handbooks and reference works in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
  • Scopus  
      
    SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. Includes over 3 million conference papers. Offers sophisticated tools to track and analyze results.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Web of Science enables users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature through cited reference searching.
  • Ulrichsweb
    Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Addittional Databases

  • Journal Citation Reports  
      
    A major source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology
  • BioMed Central
    Open access peer-reviewed journals in biomedical research and biology.
  • BioOne
    Full-texts of high-impact Bioscience research journals published by small societies and other non-for-profit publishers.
  • JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments  
      
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies.
  • MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
    This is virtually the Pubmed database re-packaged into a more user friendly interface.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    This database also allows you to draw a chemical structure and then find articles about that structure. You can also search by a chemical formula.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Porcia Vaughn
Contact Info
Phone: (713) 743-9403
Office: 117X M.D. Anderson Library
Send Email
 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, books, and more that the UH Libraries do not have access to. Faculty may also use ILL to request items the Libraries do own in order to receive them via email.

New to ILL? Watch this video!

© 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip