Welcome

This guide contains information that will be userful as you complete library-related assignments in course BCHS 4321.
Use the subject tabs near the top of this page for additional tools and resources.
Click Here
Electronic Reference Resources
- Access Pharmacy Access to 24 major biomedical reference/textbooks
- Biomedical Engineering Handbook
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Other CRC Handbooks
- Wiley Encyclopedia Biomedical Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation
- StatRefaccess to nearly one hundred reference books in the medical sciences. A few have been listed below.
AFHS Drug Information
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
The Merck Manual
The Review of Natural Products
PLUS... over 90 additional reference books. - PubGet
Core Databases
Begin with these databases to find journal articles on your topic.
- ScopusSciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. Includes over 3 million conference papers. Offers sophisticated tools to track and analyze results.
- Web of ScienceHighly cited journals in the sciences and engineering. Find who cited who.
- SciFinder ScholarThis database also allows you to draw a chemical structure and then find articles about that structure. You can also search by a chemical formula.
Other Useful Databases
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus Core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals, plus full text.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This is virtually the Pubmed database re-packaged into a more user friendly interface
- AGRICOLA Especially strong in areas of ecology, nutrition, and the environment.
- BioMedCentral Open AccessOpen access peer-reviewed journals in biomedical research and biology
- Nature.com
- BioOne Full-texts of high-impact Bioscience research journals published by small societies and other non-for-profit publishers.
- Google Scholar-- Advanced SearchGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources. Check the UH Catalog to see if we own the full-text to any article found.
Finding E-Journals
To Determine if a particular e-journal is avaliable and then gain access to it-- you should check each link below:
- To Browse UH Library e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse HAM-TMC e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse PubMed Central open access e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse BioMed Central open access e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse VERSITAOPEN Open Access e-Journals CLICK HERE
Research Support Librarian |
Live Chat: Please include email with chat questions!!! |
Bibliography Tools
Create your research paper's bibliography quickly and easily......
RefWorks
Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography. More informatiion about RefWorks


Loading...
