Environmental Biology of Texas
This guide contains information that will be userful as you complete library-related assignments in course BIOL 3397.
Use the subject tabs near the top of this page for additional tools and resources.
Begin with these databases to find journal articles on your topic.
- Academic Search Complete
A good database to start with. It is a multidisciplinary database that includes peer reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers. Many articles are full-text.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Fully searchable collection of commissioned and peer-reviewed articles covering the following subject areas: biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, genetics
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. Includes over 3 million conference papers. Offers sophisticated tools to track and analyze results.
- Web of Science
Highly cited journals in the sciences and engineering. Find who cited who.
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals, plus full text.
Especially strong in areas of ecology, nutrition, and the environment.
- Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology
- BioMedCentral Open Access
Open access peer-reviewed journals in biomedical research and biology
Full-texts of high-impact Bioscience research journals published by small societies and other non-for-profit publishers.
- Google Scholar-- Advanced Search
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources. Check the UH Catalog to see if we own the full-text to any article found.
Create your research paper's bibliography quickly and easily......
Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography. More informatiion about RefWorks